If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

First Snowdrop

I have been keeping an eye out for local Snowdrops.  I have seen blips for ages from others.  Today I spotted my first, it was at the Lodge.  

A year or so ago we did a swap with Kanyl (who is a bit of a Galanthophile) a small clump from Amber Nook for 3 or 4 small clumps of different species from his collection.  A bit of a bargain I thought!  These two are escapees from that clump he took.  The ones we swapped for aren't showing any signs of flowers yet.

The next door lodge has quite a carpet of snowdrops but even they are only just showing a little bit of white on the buds.   I am putting down the earliness (by local standards) of these two to their sheltered position almost under the veranda of the lodge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.