But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Motley Crew.

I took our Christmas tree to the Recycling Centre (aka The Tip) this afternoon and stopped to photograph this motley pair of ne’er-do-wells; apparently, they were caught nicking this item of street furniture. I had a chat with the friendly attendant while I was there, just to be polite, and had to put up with his interminable discourse on a life-time of decorating the site with cuddly toys.
 
Being half way there, I went on to check that the beehives were still upright after the gales during the week and to replace a leaking roof that I’d noticed on my last visit. I didn’t disturb the girls but the debris that falls through the mesh floor and accumulates on the straps securing the hives to their stands confirms that all is well. After the cold spell since Christmas, the queen will not have been laying but, with the sudden warm weather, she may start again. It will be at least a week before any brood develops enough to be sealed so I need to treat them for varroa before then and I’ll feed them their annual treat of sugar candy at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.