Police post up which I climbed to the flag

What a day again.  Still finding it difficult to walk in the city for there are tangles of nylon kite string still waiting to catch the unwary. There were two wedding ceremonies to watch - the first was the Temple visit of the bride with all her friends the day before the wedding.  They went to the Temple to pray to Krishna and Ganesh for good life in marriage.  The friends carried pots of Temple water back to the bride's parents house.  Lots of discordant music, drumming and dancing in the street in front of the house.  Then I walked around the huge lake tank and made my way up the hill to the tv tower beside the old  palace fort above the city.  Lots of terrific views - many of the houses are painted blue which has properties in it to keep mosquitoes away..  The fort was a palace too with courtyards are airy halls to sit in the cool and interesting pillars and all around the outside wall, copiously pierced by arrow slits, the guards had shelters with fireplaces and a loo hole.  There were lots of enormous step wells and in one were 'red' monkeys (short stubby tail and aggressive) drinking and living and in another some bushes filled with humming birds and weeny fly catchers.  I determined to climb the highest point which was approached through the lethal thorny acacia trees by a long ramp up which elephants could climb.  I climbed right up to the flag - a bit of vertigo wobble on the stone stairs built out of the side of the building... 

Then back down to see another marriage party forming but the groom didn't want to come out till dark.  I asked a girl on a scooter if he would be long and she asked whether I had been to Bundi before because she knew my face - extraordinary, she must meet so many people but she and I remembered  that she had shown me the most famous step well in town and that it was raining so we had gone on her scooter.  I left the wedding attendants with their umbrellas but the groom on his horse in his procession came down the main street later in the evening.  My guest house hostess was off to a wedding ceremony and posed for me - lots of her wedding gold on view...  wedding and walk here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.