The gloves are off

I have seen pretty much no one with gloves on here, even when it's below minus 5. Gloves are marking me out as a foreigner and two young girls sniggered at me as I walked past. That could have been because I am wearing multiple jackets and resembling the Michelin Man. But why invite the discomfort of being cold when the alternative is just to look a bit fat?

Gloves were off for a few seconds in order to snap a warming drink at lunchtime, with the main street and hilltop castle hazy in the background. Located a great coffee shop that should make Starbucks hang its head in shame. And at about a third of the price.

I'm really liking Romanian. It's a pretty Latin language; somewhat of an outlier. It's very closely related to Italian, which I can't speak. But because I speak some French and Spanish it would be reasonable to expect reading Romanian is within reach with a concerted effort.

Thanks to the language, beautiful countryside, effective central heating and delicious fried potatoes, Romania is officially on the list of countries I'd consider working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.