Twisted

I cycle to work along the river. I cycle home in the dark along the main road because from the bridge it is too dark to distinguish the water from the towpath. But a fortnight ago a colleague, whose cycle-commute is much longer than mine, told me he always goes home on the towpath and thinks it's safer. So I've been trying it and it's a revelation.

Down at river level, ambient light bouncing off the water makes it very easy to see. I can also see the rowers and canoeists with the white lights on their bow and red ones behind and I'm sure they can see mine. What I can't see are the runners and cyclists on the towpath without lights. The first I knew of an unilluminated cyclist this evening was him yelling, 'Fucking hell!' as he nearly ploughed into me.

Somehow this was my fault. Apparently bright lights are worse than none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.