Black

I tried to use a bookshop today. Nine books on my list. A bit esoteric so I went to a large, famous academic bookshop of the sort Oxford is lucky to have. I asked for the relevant section, found it, went through the shelves but couldn't see any of the books on my list.

I went back to the desk and asked the staff to check whether they were in stock. Two were. One was a book by two people whose surnames began with M and T.
Shelved under 'M'? I asked.
No, 'T'.
The other was, they said, shelved in 'Education Reference'.
I went back to my search. The book that was allegedly in stock wasn't under either T or M. There were no shelves labelled 'Reference' in the Education section.

I left.

Now to explore the online bookshops that pay tax as they should.


The picture has nothing to do with any of this - I was just enjoying black in the sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.