Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Bagshaw Museum

I've spent the whole day out on site visits measuring paths, inspecting gates, window jambs,, stained-glass, checking asbestos reports, heating and security arrangements.

My journey has taken me to a number of historic and listed buildings including Oakwell Hall, Red House, Bashaw Museum, Batley Carnegie Library and Dewsbury Mansion.

Today's photo is of Bashaw Museum, Upper Batley. It houses the council's Egyptian collection as well as other interesting exhibits and artefacts.

I used to visit the park as a young child with my friends and parents. After fishing for sticklebacks in the lake, a picnic and a game of football we used to walk up the steep wooded-hillside path to the museum. 

As a child I used to imagine The Professor (of the Rupert Bear stories) lived in this house. Maybe I was influenced by the butterfly collection there. 

I've always found the building to be mysterious and somewhat spooky. I still do!

On the step front the path I had to measure was 600m and I walked it four times. The 10,000 step target was met by mid-afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.