Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

A walk in Paris

crisp air and bright sun
lunch with cyrille then a film
chet baker's winter

As always, lunch with Cyrille was a very good time. I didn't know if I'd feel strong enough to go see Born To Be Blue, a biopic about Chet Baker's comeback career after the beating he took in 1966, resulting in his front teeth being knocked out and therefore his being unable to play. I did, and rather liked the film, especially Ethan Hawke's interpretation of one of my favourite trumpet players. The actor who plays Baker's father looks so much like the aging Chet that I was befuddled for a while and wondered if it was not him... until I remembered he died nearly thirty years ago , back in 1988.

More of today's outing in Flickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.