dreaming

By dreaming

A stand-in

I saw these winter planters at Central Market and thought it was a great idea to put a small cypress tree in each one, surrounded by more seasonal flowers.  But this is not the photo I had hoped to blip.

I had my first American Sign Language class last night, and took a photo of the wonderful teacher which I tried to post when I got home.  Unfortunately Blipfoto decided that the photo would not actually be taken until May 2053 and wouldn't let me use it.  Tried again today, same thing.  

The class was wonderful, and conducted in complete silence from the moment we entered the room.  Dennice communicated with us using gestures, signs and facial expressions, and made herself understood.  She uses her face and body very effectively, and very humorously, to teach.  We learned the alphabet, for finger spelling, and a few signed words and phrases.  I can tell you my name, ask for yours, say it's good to see you, and tell you if I'm happy, sad, glad, mad, angry, relaxed, calm, mellow.  I can say I feel great.  The problems for me involve having to use an arthritic right thumb to finger spell, and not having been close enough to Dennice to see the hand motions really clearly.  I'll have to choose my seat more wisely next week.  Meanwhile, I'll have a week to practice the alphabet and learn to spell my name quickly, and try to remember the specific gestures for words.  I'm hoping there will be videos on Youtube to help with that.

It was a dreadful night to be out - just pouring, and difficult to see to drive.  I hope the weather will be better for future classes.  It's been raining steadily since yesterday, a total of 2.5" in that short time, with no sign of let-up.  So I'm in for the rest of the day.  Hope you are all having better weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.