An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

My Flabber is Gasted!

The minutes and hours passed slowly today as we waited for the results of Alan's blood test to see if he would get home from hospital.

David texted me at 3.30pm to say the blood test had shown reduced inflammation markers so he was ok to come home.  Yay!  

He also said there would be a delivery between 3.00pm and 4.00pm  It had already arrived and one of the builders had signed for it and put it in the hall.   I assumed he'd ordered a shirt or pair of jeans for Saturday night.

Just before 4.30pm my boys arrived home.  Everything was right with the world again :-)))

Alan was grinning from ear to ear and full of the joys.  Wanted his potatoes on :-))  While they were cooking I was in the living room trying to sum up the enthusiasm to do an online Tesco order, when David came in and said the box that had been delivered was for me.  Very curious! :)

I had no idea what it might be.  I opened the outer box and peeped in to see a fancy looking gift bag.  Intrigued I reached in and pulled out not just any gift bag, but a Mulberry gift bag!   I opened it to find the most utterly gorgeous handbag inside along with a card saying belated Happy Christmas from my boys.  I just burst into tears!

I am not into designer stuff, it really means nothing to me and I wouldn't know a pair of Armani jeans from a Florence and Fred pair, but for over 10 years I have dreamt of owning a Mulberry bag.  I never, ever thought I would.   But now I do!  

Due to Alan's stay in hospital in December, David didn't get a chance to buy me anything for Christmas other than a scarf he sneakily included with purchases for the house on Christmas Eve, so this was to make up for that.  Also it was my 50th Christmas apparently and as we've not had a proper holiday since 2014 (2015's holiday was a nightmare due to Alan being ill)  he felt I deserved something special.  I was in bits!

And before you tell me, yes I know how lucky I am.  Not because I have the handbag of my dreams (although I am very lucky in that respect.  see extra shot) but because I have THE best husband and best friend in the whole world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.