A Trip to Leith

Earn money! In your spare time. Too good to be true, here I was, being ushered into Leith’s Malmaison Hotel and no sooner had I signed the man’s sheet than a grubby envelope was pressed into my hand. This is all right - a tight wad of cash was mine, simply for being asked to share my opinions on some potential charity campaign. And I usually do that for free - and about anything and everything. My fellow focus group members several times brought up how they’d like to see more connection between charitable giving and ‘where the money actually goes’ - you know, not on administration. Ha - the irony, not on focus groups either I suspect.
So, suitably flushed, I stepped out into the air by the quay and made my way along the front; I decided I really ought to put some of this money back into the community. And there was the Dreadnought - the old Halfway House, now run by a couple of young guys - fine beers, football highlights on, great music from Mink DeVille to the Stones and a good earful of reggae. Top place! I may well be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.