Plus ça change...

By SooB

Almunecar fireworks

Despite backblipping this from a few weeks in the future, I know from a whole load of photos taken today, that there was a jumping into the pool contest, before appropriate siestas (strict enforcement of the 'no siesta, no fiesta' rule here). Then into town for a meal (with what in retrospect I'm choosing to call 'eccentric' service - though that's not what we were calling it at the time!) Lovely steak for me, I have to say, though some disappointed diners meant a trip to the sweetie shop (yum) before heading onto the beach for the fireworks.

I should mention that earlier there had been much ceremony around the bringing out of an icon from the church in town, who was then to be paraded round town (while we were flagging down passing waiters) and then out on a boat and back into port. The fireworks kick off on her return. And kick off they did. You get to a point, when you're not a kid any more, where you think 'yeah, fireworks. Ok, great.' But then some little town in cash-strapped Spain puts on a display like this that, had I been wearing any, would literally have knocked my socks off. Fab. I know the fireworks are blown out in this, but I wanted to get some of the foreground atmosphere - with the parasols and the smoke and all the people.

Once the oohing and ahhing was done, we skirted round the funfair and headed home. I imagine there was late night nonsense spoken on the terrace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.