Goldfinch

My flat has a new front door, which took all day and a heck of a lot of hammering to get in place. It has a handle (the other one didn't) so we don't get stuck in the "airlock" (i.e. going into the communal hall without keys, the flat door's Yale lock clicking shut and not having a key to undo the double lock of the main front door – it has happened more than once and it's not fun waiting for a key holder to arrive to set you free, especially if your phone is not in your pocket).

The new door isn't perfect, which is a shame as I'd built it up in my mind to be much, much better than the old door. But it is a fire door, so it's safer. The door man showed me how to shut it as he'd noticed me pulling the handle down and pulling the door closed so that it shut silently (no loud click). I don't like to announce my whereabouts to the neighbours – I sneak... but I know when my neighbours leave their flat, and their bathroom, and any other door they can shut. I think the door man thought I was a little odd. He must live in a detached house where everyone sleeps at the same time as him.

Throughout the door installation, Juno supervised. He wasn't bothered by a stranger or lots of noise. I think the door man may have been a little intimidated by the avid interest.

An earlier bird spot today (8.17–9am, 0˙C, sunny):
1 blackbird (female)
1 blue tit
1 dunnock
3 goldfinches
2 house sparrows
2 pigeons, feral
1 robin
4 starlings
cats: Mimi

This evening's Feast meeting was a little beginning of what needs to be done before the market starts up again in April. Genny provided some tasty nibbles. Nom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.