Bufflehead

I saw this duck in Kirkland, near Seattle, but didn't look up what it was. The London Wetland Centre came to my aid today, identifying it as a bufflehead ('buffalo-head' due to its large noggin). It was a bit dreich in Kirkland so I hadn't noticed its iridescent feathers. Aren't they lovely? I attempted to take a photo of the bird on the water with a wonderful combination of reflected green foliage and shiny feathers, but none of those picture were sharp enough. This bird was still enough for a clear shot.

All the birds were enjoying the sun at the centre and the otters were out, too. I still haven't spied a vole, but there's always a next time. I've added photos of a canvasback and a wood duck, who were close contenders for this blip, as well as a Lego otter and frog (my favourites from the Lego brick trail).

No door again today, so I had to get myself out in the sun. The tax still isn't done, but it's a little closer.

I had a half-hour garden count today just before the sun set (15.52–16.22):
1 grey squirrel
1 red fox (with a very bushy tail)
1 large ginger cat called Bacon
1 small ginger cat (Juno) 
I black cat called Mimi
2 robins
2 blue tits
2 coal tits
1 common crow
1 female blackbird
1 house sparrow

I've installed a niger seed feeder, but it'll take a while for the birds to settle with it.

I attended a very interesting Feast meeting this evening, discussing markets with a knowledgeable chap involved with Borough Market, along with food policy and trends. Nuggets I can share with you are: 
• across the country, older people cook – younger folk eat out more
• the catering business is the biggest employer in London and it's extremely fragile – dependent on oil prices, climate change, and migrant workers
• Brexit effect: people are already starting to want simpler, cheaper food, which will impact quality

Plenty of food for thought. It was a productive meeting with helpful tips for now and future planning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.