But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Bird Feeder.

I was doing a bit of experimentation today using my mobile phone as a remote trigger; so this Blip was taken with the camera out of sight. The one problem that did appear was that the touch screen focusing available through the phone isn’t as precise as that via the shutter button, hence the blue tit is sharp while the great tit doesn’t bear close scrutiny. 

I was about to address the problem when my phone went “Bingly bingly bong,” in true Terry Pratchett fashion, to tell me that I was in the wrong place. I should have been at the U3A meeting in Penicuik where I serve as technical advisor, ensuring that our projector talks the same language as the speaker’s computer and that the unfathomable sound system is functional. It always amazes me that I can remember how to do these things where-as, those to whom I have explained the procedures can’t – yet it is myself who can’t remember to be there to carry out said procedures.
 
I finally had the sound sorted ten minutes after the talk had finished by the simple measure of chucking the radio mike in the bin and finding a replacement.
 
It would have been a very worthwhile talk as the lady is responsible for the South Kirk of Penicuik funding the building, staffing and provision of supplies for a much needed hospital in the Zambian village of Chitambo where David Livingstone died. It’s a charity that is deserving of our support so I was disappointed that not only could we not hear, but the photographic illustrations were of such poor quality that we couldn’t appreciate them either. 

Thankfully, there was a lot of interest in the many issues and so there was a lot of informative discussion over tea and biscuits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.