Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

US National Emblem?

It’s not a fir tree on a mountaintop!   Saw this guy fly to this tall electric pole across the street and sit there for hours.   I think I’m not capable of getting a really sharp picture like some of the birds I see on blip, so applied a bit of a paint filter to make the composition more interesting.   I hate it when equipment gets blamed, but can’t help but think the rather inexpensive ”kit” 210 lens is the cause.  I dunno.


He looks a bit scraggly, and not so majestic to me, but it’s been raining,  And he’s thinking about tomorrow when we get a new leader. 
Some of the rest of us might be feeling scraggly too., :-)
The bald eagle is the National Emblem for the USA — chosen  in 1782 because of its long life, great strength, and majestic looks, and it represents freedom.  (It was also thought at the time to only exist on tis continent.)
It is said the eagle was used as a national emblem because, at one of the first battles of the revolution, early in the morning, the noise of the struggle awoke the sleeping eagles on the heights and they flew from their nests and circled about over the heads of the fighting men, all the while giving vent to their raucous cries.   “They are shrieking for Freedom” said the patriots.
Then there is Benjamin Franklin’s view that it should not have been chosen as representative of our country, because he is a bird of bad moral character, he does not get his living honestly, and he is a coward.  (Ben wanted the turkey.)   Maybe today, some more would agree with him..


Link  to some of this info and more about the eagle...

Edit: a mini report about the opera last night.   the singing as marvelous - (maybe "a star is born"!  (Angel Blue) -I would have been happy listening to them with my eyes closed as the sets didn't help at all.  I think a new opera goer wouldn't have gotten the set changes properly.  just my opinion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.