TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Crepe myrtle (Lagerstroemia)

This is a genus of around 50 species native to the Indian subcontinent, southeast Asia, northern Australia and parts of Oceania, now cultivated in warmer climates around the world.
For me, it is an old fashioned flower relating back to my childhood and scorchingly hot days on the farm of my Aunt and Uncle.

The flowers form panicles of crinkled flowers with a crepe like texture. Colours vary from deep purple to red to white.

I picked this sumptuous pinnacle from a street tree in Shepparton today as I drove home. It was raining heavily (not much cooler), but well worth getting wet for. My extras are to show the development of the pink frilly petals radiating from the central stamen.
It does look better in Large, if you have the time.

I always forget to thank Anni for hosting what is perhaps my favourite challenge each week, but I do appreciate her consistency in supporting we Blippers. Please forgive, Anni!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.