TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

"Silly Galah"

There is an Australian children's book called "Silly Galah", which is a fun and informative collection of rhyming poems about Australia's unique birds and animals.
However, it is also a common Australian colloquialism used to tease someone who has done something a little foolish.
My intention today was to get a shot of a Tawny frogmouth, having been given the word and the location of a family high in a tree near a recreation reserve in south Shepparton.  No such luck - just this flock of Galahs (sometimes known as rose breasted cockatoos) feasting on the pickings of the vacant football field. There were about thirty of them and I attempted to get one in flight (see extra), without much success.  More and more I hanker for a 300mm lens! Not a great day - I really wanted to get that Tawney frogmouth. One day...

I am going to be a bit quiet for a few days. Grandson visiting before going back to school. I must get his camera charged. He is a great Blip buddy.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.