Amazement

Just when you think that your garden has nothing else to show you - this turns up.

It is the tiniest thing you could ever see, just the merest flash of green, seen from the corner of your eye.

It is, I believe, a cuckoo wasp - she will lay her eggs in the nests of other wasps, and her larvae will either eat the egg, or eat the food of the host wasp.

I took the image with my long lens at full extension, but it's not good enough - I shan't rest until I get a better image.  The only thing is they are very flighty, and will not sit still for even a fraction of a second; they are high on the stone work at the front of the house, and I can't get near enough to use the Rower's macro lens.

But watch this space; isn't she the most beautiful thing you ever saw?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.