The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Smokey 1055 hr (Thursday 19th January 2017)

I haven't been on Blip for a few days as I have been incarcerated under a pile of paperwork and other chores, so am just checking in to report that both cat and I are OK, and I hope to make my second car errand of the year this afternoon and I'll be taking a camera. I'll be in Wiltshire although in my mind I'll be on a grassy knoll near Capitol Hill.

L.
20.1.2017 (1145 hr)

Blip #2014 (#2264 including 250 archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #000
2017 Blips/Extras #014
Day #2492 (487 gaps from 26 March 2010)
Smokey #368
LOTD #1249 (#1375 including 126 on archived blips)

Smokey series

Taken with Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ60 compact

Lozarhythm of the Day:
Slowdive - Avalyn 2 (recorded 1989, White House Studio, Weston-super-Mare)
The recent reactivation of Slowdive after 22 years inspired me to take a new look at their back catalogue and fill in a few gaps, as I had a few of their early EPs and their second album. This is an extended instrumental version of a song from their debut release that appeared only on the 12" single format at the time. Recorded as a demo it came out the following year on the Creation label and became associated with the new "shoegazing" trend, though Slowdive disliked the term. Influences of My Bloody Valentine and the Pink Floyd are discernable in their sonic soundscapes though their explorations of sounds and loops were uniquely their own, no more of the time then than they are now. Their version of Golden Hair sounds more Floydian than Syd Barrett's.

One year ago:
Eric (Peregrine)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.