Sole survivor

A much-too-exciting sort of day, and not one that I wish to repeat - ever.

Had just started out for work, driving to Berwick, when a driver coming in the opposite direction lost control of their car, drove across the middle of the road and crashed into mine. The resulting mayhem was worthy of an episode of Casualty - two ambulances, three fire crews and several police cars in this scene. I'll spare you the details, but once the glass had settled and the airbag subsided it became apparent that my foot was trapped by the brake pedal and the side of the car. It took a while for the fire personnel  to cut the top off the car, move some metal, cut through the other boot and get me out. Then it was a "blue-light" ride to A&E in Cramlington for assessment, scans and X-rays. By some miracle, it seems that I've escaped without major injury - just a very painful back and sternum - but, apparently, by tomorrow morning I'll feel as though I've been through 10 rounds with Mike Tyson!

The emergency services' personnel were brilliant throughout, as were the staff at A&E. Our NHS needs saving!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.