MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Posh at the Pier

This, our second-to-last day of SISE, focused on energy views outside the US. Speakers funneled information about energy mixes and projected energy pathways for countries such as France, Germany, Australia, Japan, the UK, Canada, Denmark, Argentina, and my dear Brazil. The session featuring Argentina and Brazil was done by two members of the respective Chicago-based consulate offices, and I was very impressed with the amount of knowledge and information they were able to share, considering energy is not the focus of their day-to-day work. Of course, they talked about sugarcane ethanol and Petrobras. I brought up the question of land use changes, but they claimed it was not so much an issue- that they have quite a large land area that they can use for crop and animal production that will not degrade virgin biomes. I am not entirely certain that this is true, but I like to think that Brazil is trying to do the right thing. I trend toward eternal optimism. :)

The evening was our Commencement Banquet (unfortunately scheduled one day early due to limitations with the venue, Navy Pier). Arriving at Navy Pier, I did not expect the formally set tables, the live band, the appetizers (lobster bisque?), the open bar, all of the people who attended from outside our program- our mentors and speakers, and people just generally interested in energy sustainability in Chicago. The dinner was fantastic and a great opportunity to get to know some new people, as we had assigned seating.

Following the dinner and a speech by the executive director of the Clean Energy Trust, Amy Francetic, each group gave a (strict) 45 SECOND pitch on our projects. I used our single powerpoint-slide limit to superimpose a whole lot of animation, and I ended up being the only woman of the 14 teams to present. I got a lot of compliments afterward, but I must say, it does feel strange to be given a lot of credit just for being a woman. I have never felt [oddly or badly] different because of my gender. My skin? yes. My height? yes. But not because I'm a woman. That's what a huge interest in math, science, and engineering will get you I guess... an obliviousness to the things that other people might feel in the same situation. The point was emphasized by the fact that Ms. Francetic had just focused much of her speech on the need for more visibility and greater participation by women in STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) fields- a point I most certainly agree with.

Many of the SISE participants hung around chatting and networking after the events were over. There was an inkling of dancing, but all true efforts were squelched when the band announced it was 10 and time to leave. So we hopped in a limo (that's right) and headed back to the dorms for a very late night of presentation preparation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.