No. 1

As the sign says, this lady who we always call 'the olive lady' was the Number 1 personality by far in our local fresh food market. She greeted everyone with hoops of delight, pressed olives into our mouths as my grannies used to do with sweeties, and ladled many extras on top of our orders. Today she retires as the market closes for good. We've been going for 19 years and it probably won't strike us that it has really closed until we can't get through the wide doorway next week.

There were hugs and tears at every stall today as holders and patrons embraced, not knowing when or if they will ever see each other again. Some stall holders are looking for small shops in the area and others are thinking of other markets where they can take over empty lots.

Gracias, adios y hasta siempre!

PS
Just seen it's my 2,500th blip! I thought it was tomorrow according to the message I received from blip. Ah, well! I'll leave my speech of gratitude to you all until my 7th year anniversary which will come up very soon...6.85 years today! And the pressure's off for tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.