Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

What's red and brown and loves flies?

Why, a Vermillion Flycatcher, of course!  This has to be one of the prettiest birds, with its rich red and chocolately brown feathers.  It's a bird that is found primarily in Mexico, and in a small range of Arizona and southern Texas.  I've seen them on prior trip to Arizona, but have never been successful in getting photos, so I was very excited today to have not one, but TWO photo ops!
 
My other favorite Sonoran Desert flycatcher, the Phainopepla (Silky Flycatcher) is in Extra.  

It was a crazy weather day here with winds gusting 30-40 MPH, and massive rivers of water flooding the "dry-washes" all over Tucson, so we called it a day a little after 1 and spent some very enjoyable time just sitting around chatting in my parent's RV.  My parents are really neat people and even if they weren't my parents, I'd want to hang out with them.  Going to be hard to say goodbye tomorrow morning.

Thanks for coming along on my adventure, and for all the comments, hearts and stars.

And to all the women (and men) who joined the Women's March events all around the globe today...BRAVA!  So proud of every single person who got out there.  

Xo
Debbi

PS:  Album of AZ birds posted HERE on FLickr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.