dreaming

By dreaming

Not 2053

Trying to upload any of the photos I took today, I learned that somehow my camera is permanently set to May 2053, as far as Blip is concerned.  So until I can figure out what the problem is, or am able to use another camera, you'll be seeing photos taken earlier, just so I can stay in touch.

Today was my volunteer day, and I spent the time working with a man from Eritrea.  As part of his homework assignment for his ESL class, he and three other Eritreans had to do an in-class presentation about various aspects of their country.  He was able to say where Eritrea is in Africa and what countries surrounded it, but beyond that he needed to find lots of other information about such things as ethnic makeup, geography, currency and the economy.  He had brought his brand new laptop with him, but had no idea how to use it to find what he needed.   I had to download Chrome for him, and then help him to use Google to find what he needed.  What is so laughable about this is that I am not at all a techie, and I know about computers only what I've had to learn to do my own work,  The idea that I could be someone's computer instructor is rather ridiculous.  But he got most of what he needed and I hope he will be prepared for his Monday class.

I wasn't able to attend the Women's March today, but was delighted to learn that my niece marched.  When they were growing up and even into their late teens and early twenties, the girls had no interest in social issues at all, despite living in a family where people talked politics a lot and espoused a liberal point of view.  It's gratifying now to see Manda participating in the social movements of the world around her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.