The Ents dipped their toes into the icy water

Another sparkling day in Kent. Hard frost overnight, -3.5c at 8.00am. For the 4th time this winter Mote Park Lake has frozen and with a few more days of this weather still on the cards the ice will only get thicker.

It was a joy to be out walking around Bearsted and into the Park tihs morning, enjoying the sharp, crisp air. I thought that it would put paid to any rugby this afternoon but I was wrong.

The game in Greenwich was not cancelled although a pitch inspection showed the ground was hard but not frozen. Both teams wanted to play, saying that they've played on harder ground at the beginning of the season. The surface took a stud so we decided to play, managing to finish the match with no ill effects, except my frozen hands which were very painful when in the hot shower afterwards.

I always feel cold after a game in the winter months, despite all the running around, proper base layers, hot shower, hot car on the way home and another hot shower when I get home. I'm OK then! Final score Greenwich 7 - 24 Orpington.

A very pleasant evening when I eventually warmed up, a slow cooker pork dish, wine and a drop of whisky did the job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.