Pint of bitter?

Pint of tea more like!

Luckily, my day had been put into perspective last night, watching Guy Martin break the record for the fastest crossing of the Taklamakan Desert by bicycle.  It was very understated. He is as hard as nails.  I think my perishability level is way, way lower!

Man, it was cold!

In the TV footage, Guy's bones ache from the metal plates and screws in his body getting below a certain temperature.  I have no metal plates but I spent a fair while shaking out my fingers to stop them going numb and wiggling my toes.  I had my full winter kit on.  He wore shorts for much of it!

As extreme fatigue set in, Guy stopped in a lay-by for food and rest.  Feeling durable Not wanting to seize up, I decided against stopping in Wetherby on the way home.  However, I knew liveliness and mental stamina were on their way out when I chose to empty the half litre of water out of my water bottle 10 miles from home.  Weight mattered!  

For Guy, a huge turnout lined the streets, including local dignitaries and dancing girls.  I had my old faithfuls, Rich and Little Dog, awaiting me in the kitchen.  And that's all I needed.  And a hot shower.

Shame Rich had done three loads of washing with it.

Did I, like Guy, overcome the limits of human endurance?  No, without doubt, I did not.  But he didn't half help me round today with a fair few icy chuckles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.