CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Sun setting from Lypiatt

I've had a delightfully lazy midwinter's day enjoying being outside in the still air. I went to our local coal merchant's yard which is sited in an old limestone quarry which was once also the location for a limekiln that used wood as the necessary fuel from the adjacent managed woodland on the steep side of The Horns valley. I ordered a coal delivery as well as picking up a small bag of household coal to tide us over. I always enjoy meeting the owners who live beside the quarry which has been in their family for a very long time.

Before going to pick up Woodpeckers from the train bringing her home from her jaunt to Cambridge, I went on a short drive down the old drove road to Nether Lypiatt. I parked near the rather ornate and grand manor house and took some pictures of the big chestnut trees beside the barns. This view was in the opposite direction looking in the direction of the Golden Valley and Rodborough. 

For this Blip I played with the built in ND filter on my Fujifilm camera, which is always a bit of a learning curve for me. This seems to have come out alright. I've added a couple of 'Extra photos' of the chestnut tree (a reverse view from where I took the Blip image), and an earlier shot of a buzzard. I had seen it from our back garden flying across the valley behind our house,  when it was quite close and low. But by the time I got my camera ready it had flown over and was twice as high flying up The Horns valley towards the quarry, as it happens. I got this heavily cropped shot just as it disappeared altogether, after being mobbed by a crow or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.