The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

When in Cambridge

..blip a bicycle!
I took my time getting up this morning, and left the air b and b about 11. Bright sunshine and frost in abundance. I didn't have the urge to visit museums as I had luggage, so I took the bus from the residential area of Chesterton, which has many old fashioned village qualities if you look hard enough, to the city centre. From there I walked to the station, via Regent Street and this red Dutch bicycle.

The most commonly spoken language I heard on the street in Cambridge, in addition to English, was Castilian Spanish. In Stroud and parts of Gloucester, it's Polish. All of which leads me to believe that:
A) there are strong links between Spain and Cambridge.
B) I am my father's daughter, because this is the sort of remark he'd make, though he'd probably do a quick survey of the languages spoken by taxi drivers, too! My taxi driver yesterday was middle aged, British English, with broad flat vowels, and did not want to talk.

I am back off to the big smoke now, sitting backwards to the engine, watching flat fields populated by polytunnels flash past me. Solar farms, housing from several eras, and the ubiquitous bicycle racks on Royston station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.