The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sheila's Polish baskets

After work, I took the bus up the hill and called in at Sheila's cottage to drop off a book. I found her at home, listening to the radio and weaving a Polish-style basket. Sheila is not young, and her eyesight is not what it used to be, but she still owns a share of a wood in Herefordshire which is managed using traditional methods. There she grows the willow she needs for her baskets, which are sold on site to visitors. We visited the wood once on an open day: in 2011. CleanSteve's blip of the day is here. It predates my blipping days. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/1413183

Sheila is a true craftswoman, and she kindly allowed me to snap the baskets. At this point, I had not really figured out the camera at all. Never mind, please concentrate on the splendid basketwork instead. I am tempted to buy one of these Little Red Riding baskets and set off into the woods....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.