Richard, the Harris Hawk

We took Anne, who is visiting from London, with us to the Open Day at Clissett Wood, near Ledbury in Herefordshire. It is communally owned by an assortment of people who work and use it for their own delight. Our friend Sheila, who lives near us, is a basket maker using willow, and it was she who suggested that we might come along.

It was a great day. The sun came out as we neared the wood and the rich colours of autumn made the landscape beautiful. We did wander about the various crafts being demonstrated, marvelled at their quality and enjoyed the ability to be in a working wood, in good convivial company. As well as a smith, a bodger and wood-carvers there were dyers showing the coloured wool and felt prepared from plants from the wood.

But for me the highlight of being there was the presence of a man and his hawk, who let anyone come up very close to the bird and answered any questions. He kindly let me take pictures for my blip and Richard, the hawk was so well behaved, not scared by all the people. Apparently he is 8 years old, and should live to be twenty-five, being fed on a variety of foods which include rats and quail.

I am really unhappy with my photography today. I just couldn't seem to choose the right settings for the various different situations within the tall trees of the wood, despite there being small clearings. When i tried to take pictures of Richard in flight, there was so little time to make changes. I would have been better using the pre-set for sports and action photos.

I also wish I hadn't used just this prime lens for everything, although the learning curve has been useful. After an initial series of pictures with Richard perched on and tethered to his keeper's wrist, I went off to follow Helena and Anne around the various exhibitions and demos, till finally meeting up with Sheila for a cuppa and for her to describe what it is like to be a co-owner of the wood. Fun apparently. I hope to go and see her at home soon and have a look at her baskets, hoping for another blippertunity.

I am linking HERE to a gallery of the other pictures of Richard which I took today. I would love you to take a look so you can enjoy some other (often sharper) views of this magnificent bird, just please excuse the quality. I have chosen this picture to blip, as I felt it showed the power and majesty of its flight as it came down from a tree branch to eat an offering of food on the keeper's glove. It then landed to take the food before immediately flying away again, I presume so that it can eat the morsel. The keeper would then call out, and after a short time (mostly!) the hawk would fly back down to repeat the collection of food and then fly off to a different tree each time. We watched it do this probably ten times. One time it flew along the path and over my head and I could feel my hair blown by the movement of air from its wings. It was amazing to experience that.

This picture was taken with Richard probably ten feet from me. Everything is out of focus, but I don't care as I can remember the speed of its flight and my attempts to track it's movements and the exhilaration of the whole thing; being 'allowed' to share it in its noble life, as it hunted in its natural domain.

I would like to thank the keeper very much, and to apologise as I have forgotten his name in all the excitement. Sorry! However, he did give me the card of his friend, who can arrange to bring a number of different birds for photographic purposes. If by chance you are interested, you can see more at their website www.falconry-days.com (Can't get a link to work). If this bird is a sample of what is on offer, then I would be very interested, if I could afford it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.