A web luncheon

I have to blip early today, as I need to prepare for tonight's town council finance committee meeting which I will be chairing as usual. I am always surprised at how much business there is to cover and how wide ranging the issues are.

After a brief but unsuccessful trip to town to get a new phone contract, I've decided to stay in the old-fashioned land of non-contract communications. I do hate the world of telecoms businesses which do not seem to serve my needs. Ah well, I shall plod along in my own way, switching on a mobile at the moment that I need to make a call, and not being subservient to it.

When we came home, I had a quick piece of toast with the delicious young goats cheese I bought at the weekend and then headed out to the garden. I had spotted several nuthatches feeding beside the cabin, but they didn't return in time for this session.

I also looked for insects, and butterflies in particular, but they too seemed absent, and I couldn't afford to sit and wait. Spiders however are all on show all around the garden. It seems to be their time of year as autumn gradually arrives. I remember once going camping in late September in the New Forest and waking to a complete covering by spider webs on the dewy grasses, shrubs and trees.

This spider was very busy munching away at a black ball between it's feet, which can now hardly be recognised as a fly anymore. I expect there will be an evening of web repairs to come, before the night time session of moth catching proceeds. It is a hard life being out there in nature, unless you are a cat like Bomble who can hunt for pleasure or as an automatic response to various triggers which set him off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.