horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Doonbank Trofee

You'll have to forgive a second narcissistic cyclocross entry in the space of a week. After feeling I was really getting somewhere last week at Rouken Glen, I achieved my main aim for the four race Super Quaich series. 40th out of 91 starters puts me firmly in the top half. And on a course that I felt didn't really suit me (a lot of sloggy grass), after 2 days with a cold. So it was a pleasant surprise to find I had the legs.

I had a ding-dong battle with the rider in yellow in the middle shot. We traded places a number of times until about two thirds of the way through I put a dig in and broke the elastic. Or so I thought. I could see her catching the whole of the last lap, but managed to hold on for a 20 second or so cushion.  Long day with all of the driving to Ayr and back, but worth it for the result, and now a two week gap till Dunbar and round 3 (and pondering what my next target should be, on a style of course that did genuinely suit me the last time I rode it a couple of years back - there, that should scupper any chance of a good result....)

p.s. the beard went later in the evening. Still not sure I suit one, and undoubtedly look younger without. Maybe it'll help be more aero as well....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.