Frost

About halfway through last week I received an email telling me that my application to participate in a Code First course had been successful.  Code First is a not for profit social enterprise which delivers courses and hosts various events to encourage women to pursue careers in tech. Women currently only represent about 17% of the tech workforce in the UK, and Code First is trying to reduce this gender imbalance by providing a safe and non-intimidating environment for women to start coding in. 

The course I am on runs for two hours after work every Tuesday for the next 8 weeks. Although I have coded in R before (and I'm now starting with Python), I am finding using only online resources difficult and my progression is slow. Code First should therefore be very helpful, as well as teaching me a new language (I'm working with HTML and CSS to produce websites). I managed to finish all the prep work today and it looks like a really nice code (I'm not really enjoying how Python works), so I'm really excited to start on Tuesday! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.