MonoMonday "Minimal Photography" (IKB Plagiarised)

Marlieske is setting some really fun MM themes this month. Today's theme is "Minimal Photography".

I pondered various possibilities, but then decided blatantly to plagiarise (at least I'm admitting it). In this I put some of the blame on Son#2 (my Deputy Sub-Editor) who did an Art Foundation Course before deciding to study maths. During a Skype chat yesterday, when I asked him about minimalism, he put me onto the work of French artist Yves Klein, one of the pioneers of minimalist art.

Klein was born in April 1928 and died of his 3rd heart attack aged only 34 in June 1962 just a few weeks before his son (also called Yves) was born. He produced nearly 200 blue monochrome paintings, considering them to be a way of rejecting the idea of representation in painting and therefore of attaining creative freedom. He did not title the works but after his death his widow numbered all the known paintings as "IKB 1-194", IKB standing for "International Klein Blue", a distinctive ultramarine which Klein registered as a trademark colour in 1957. He felt that this best represented "true space".

(This information is condensed from this Tate webpage).

Anyway I found a piece of card whose colour best represented IKB and photographed it against a white background. Of course, as this is MonoMonday, you'll just have to imagine it being blue, and take it on trust from me that it was indeed that colour!

(It looks best "large", without the distractions of the main webpage.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.