BETTER WEATHER THIS MORNING

so I started painting the joints of the planks. We had chosen mahagony colour for the cabin.
But in the afternoon I cycled to the field where the fallow-deers would be.
Not a far trip, as indicated I found a little path towards the river and at the end of it a fence. I did not see the deers at first so I decided to walk around the field.
From some point I discovered them they were lying in the shadow. I had to make a detour to come to my starting point. When I cycled the little path I had at my left hand a big, real big, apple orchard and in it I saw a man standing on a huge ladder picking apples. Near the fence and its closed gate his car was parked.
The deers spotting me ran away to the other end of the field and some time later again to another part. Where they lay down. They seemed afraid of humans.
I walked to my bike that I had parked a bit further away and as I wanted to go back to the path I saw a dog lying near the car. That gave me a bit of a problem, what kind of dog would that be and could I easily pass? When I saw the man coming to his car I thought that no harm would come to me. Nearing I saw that the supposed dog was a big stone, ha ha!
The man was putting apples in his car and I said hello and saw that it was the owner of the garden in town. Of course he owned the orchard too.
He recognised me and told me that he would stop with holding the deers. After 40 years. He now had only 15 and they were held for food. I did not ask further.
Then he said to me that I could always pick apples as many as I would like, from the trees and from the ground. The gate to the orchard was always open.
I was glad I had my macro lens with me and cycled to a grass field and looked for grasshoppers or crickets.
And look what I found near my feet at last! I kneeled and started my shoot.
Big eyes through my lens and at one moment she attacked me and sat somewhere else. What was a better place for my picture (I discovered later) but at some moment she left for a more hidden spot under the grass leaves.
End of story!

My haiku:

Curiosity
In her black eyes a stranger
Coming so near for once

And the proverb from Matth. 23, 24 in the saying of Jesus Christ:

To filter mosquitos and to gabble or guzzle the camels.

Perhaps not the best translation?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.