Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

August Bank Holiday Monday - Down to the Sea Again

I Must Go Down to the Sea

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by,
And the wheel's kick and the wind's song and the white sail's shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea's face and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull's way and the whale's way where the wind's like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick's over.


by John Masefield - or as Spike Milligan would have it:

I must go down to the sea again,
to the lonely sea and the sky;
I left my shoes and socks there -
I wonder if they're dry


It was bloomin' windy too, would have dried anything it didn't throw spray over.

Was intending to go to the Notting Hill Carnival today, but plans in this house rarely seem to make their sell-by date, so instead went to Keyhaven and took this shot from Hurst Spit. Very luckily there was a tear in the cloud cover for the short time I was blipping, most of the day it was rather grey and sporadically wet. But just to the left of the yacht you could see the Needles, Lighthouse and Isle of Wight cliffs very clear, enough to encourage people this side of the water to go crabbing and buy icecream. A pretty nice day all in all.

Now I feel exhausted. Tomorrow it's back to work for a rest, I reckon (haha). Still, we have the Paralympics to look forward to this week. Happy Monday night x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.