The colours of the Norfolk coast

We made a  spur of the moment decision to head off for a day's birdwatching in Norfolk - spurred on by the wonderful, and unaccustomed, sunshine and the prospect of only a gentle southerly breeze. In those sort of conditions low temperatures are not a problem. 

We spent most of the day at the Titchwell RSPB reserve, initially because it was one of the few places on the coast with an open toilet - and this was very important, given the lack of bushes on the coast and the number of people with telescopes! It's also an amazing reserve that offers good views of many of the characteristic birds. But, although I enjoy seeing and photographing birds, the atmosphere and landscape of the coast is just as important to me, and so I've selected a general view along the beach towards Blakeney point as my main image. The vast vistas and intense colours always make me happy.

Even though we weren't as dedicated as some, we managed to see 81 species during the day, although I managed to miss the Merlin that shot through. The highlights were probably the sea ducks, particularly the Long-tailed Ducks, although they were very far away and flocks of Snow Bunting at Holme Dunes. For all those keen on birds, I've added a couple of extra images. I couldn't resist the very tame robin that came and sat with us while we were visiting the eastern part of the reserve, and I enjoyed watching a turnstone open a closed mussel and feast on the result. If you want to share any more of my day, I've put some of the highlights here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.