I was going to write a whole load of stuff about internet dating, and it was all in my head until I ate dinner... after which it sort of got mushed up and useless.

I would like to meet someone, but it's not very easy, there are two flies in the ointment, as a minimum :-)  The first fly is that that the man would have to be relaxed about me going off climbing with other men, and also going away with them.  That isn't an easy thing to come to terms with I know, having wrestled (in 2015) with the fact that S was going to go away now and then with J, a female climbing partner of a few years standing, for a week or more, sharing rooms and tents.  S and I had that conversation... and I accepted it, it was okay... in general I trust people unless they prove themselves untrustworthy.

The second fly is that the man would have to accept that I wouldn't want to do everything with him, that I'd want need to spend time walking and climbing with friends and with the Club.  Priorities and balance.  My husband and I had the conversation once, if not more than once, as to whether we'd agreed that I would share his life with him, or whether we'd agreed to share our lives with each other....

So, I met S online and we were together for a year, even though we shouldn't have stayed together for that long, we were both just sort of desperate to make it work because of the climbing and walking.  Then I met D, and if you follow my journal you'll know what happened.  And just before Christmas I met B... which I thought looked promising, but he didn't after a month, possibly because of those flies...

What to do?  Carry on arranging dates that I have the inclination, but haven't really got the time for... or hide my profile, give it a rest, and trust that someone will turn up?  I just don't know, I might have to sleep on it.. several times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.