Red-Tailed Hawk

Today was a beautiful day so I did a lap around the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir in the very late afternoon.  I came across a number of people staring up and a photographer that had two cameras set up on tripods and a monster lens on one of them.  Immediately I saw the Hawk, but wasn't sure what kind. I didn't have one of my big lenses, but only the 24-240 mm, so this image is heavily cropped.  I started to ask the other photographer, what kind of raptor it was, and he quickly waved me off.  I thought perhaps he was concentrating on his settings so I waited a while. A man came along and asked him what he was shooting and he told him to have a look through his lens.  So I asked him again and he waved me off again. Feeling a bit offended, I finished with my shots and grabbed a quick shot of the back of his camera with his huge lens which showed a close-up of the hawk and now I see that he was doing a video and I must have just spoken to him at the wrong time, both times.  I thought he was very rude, and it turns out he is probably thinking the same of me.  I came back and told my DIL about the hawk (and the nasty photographer) and it turns out that the Hawks of Central Park are a well-known thing.  

The extra is a shot of the sunset tonight looking back at midtown and the west side.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.