Jado

By Jado

An experiment of sorts

I have never tried to do anything like this photograph before and although I am not entirely happy with the end result, I did have a huge amount of fun doing it.
 
The background consists of real flowers, dried and pressed in the microwave (much quicker than pressing them in a book), and the letters are candles which I had lying around.
 
It was taken as two exposures using an A4 sized MiniSun LightPad as a base, which allows the flowers to be back-lit, with two freestanding LED lamps providing additional illumination from above for the candles.  The only post-processing involved was to merge the two exposures and crop the final image a little to remove the edges of the LightPad which were visible.
 
I think I’ve ‘over done’ the background a bit.  It was meant to be out of focus, but I think it’s perhaps a bit too far out of focus.  More practice needed …

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.