TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Austraila Day in our Village

On the way to the Social Centre this morning to join in the Australia Day formalities, I took this shot of the flag against the blue sky and the gum trees and I felt it said simply everything I embrace about being an Australian.  There is a saying that "the grass is always greener in the next paddock (or the other side of the fence)" ....., but we don't say that here because we believe that's where we already live! A bit smug, I know, but indulge me, it's Australia Day!  I am not at all jingoistic about celebrating this day because my heart goes out the the First Nations of all those countries where the original inhabitants were immediately disenfranchised by the arrival of Europeans.  Changing the date would help, I think. After all, we are all Australian now, irrespective of creed, colour or culture and we need to feel united on such a day.
Our village runs Australia Day awards for residents who have significantly contributed to village life over the past year. There were four in all.  I have to say I am quietly chuffed to have received one for "contributing to the quality of village life with my photographs and journalism in the village newspaper!"
I am also told that the photos of the flowers I have taken for our gardener have been sent to Head Office to be used in promotional material for the village - a calendar, flyers, etc. Shall I add the presentation photo in extras? I  really can't bring myself to do it! Sorry.;o(

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.