TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Privet Hawk Moth Caterpillar

Psilogramma menephron is otherwise known as the Privet Hawk Moth Caterpillar. I rather think they should be called the Unicorn caterpillar! Apparently that dorsal horn (which is on the tail end) is for no other reason than to confuse predators on which end their mouth is.
Being quite a brilliant green this caterpillar pupates and finally turns into a rather boring dull grey mottled adult privet hawk moth. Not the prettiest capture, but the best it is ever going to look!
My little Blip buddy spotted this under a tree at the pool Tuesday morning (yesterday now - I am so far behind).  Being about 2.5 inches in length it hardly qualifies for Tiny Tuesday so I will just post it as my Tuesday journal entry. My gorgeous grandson returned to Melbourne this afternoon.  We are going to miss each other immensely. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.