Lines written on a banknote

It's the annual Burns Supper tonight and there's a couple of things we need to do today before getting ready for the event, so instead of looking for flowers I decided to make a picture of the flower brooch that I might be wearing tonight. Not a flower of Scotland, instead a pretty costume jewellery  piece that belonged to my mother in law and I guess to her mother before her. I've put it on the Burns Chronicle 2017 book, which has a cover with the image of the Bank of Scotland One Guinea note that Robert Burns used to write this poem on the back of it in 1786:

Wae worth thy power, thou cursed leaf!
Fell source o' a' my woe and grief!
For lack o' thee I've lost my lass!
For lack o' thee I scrimp my glass!
I see the children of affliction
Unaided, through thy curst restriction:
I've seen the oppressor's cruel smile
Amid his hapless victim's spoil;
And for thy potence vainly wished,
To crush the villain in the dust:
For lack o' thee, I leave this much-lov'd shore,
Never, perhaps, to greet old Scotland more.

The Burns Chronicle is yearly published by the Robert Burns World Federation and the original banknote is now in the Robert Burns Birthplace museum in Alloway.

Hoping this bit of poetic lament with fake flower is ok for Flower Friday, with thanks to Anni/BikerBear for hosting this challenge.

Regarding yesterday's Abstract Thursday, please help me picking out the most remarkable 5 by posting your 3 favourites in comments on my journal today or tomorrow. Find the whole collection here


Thank you very much for your kind comments, stars and even faves for yesterday's abstract !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.