Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A life well lived

My mother died this morning, peacefully in her sleep.  She was the last of her generation, a matriarch, the person who carried me, cared for me, told me off when I did bad things, but was always there for me in an hour of need.

She was in her 94th year.  Time had taken it's toll, along with various illnesses and conditions.  As can happen our roles had changed in more recent years.  The child had become the carer when the parent had been in need of care.   A once close, confiding relationship had slipped away.  Memories will be the currency of the relationship from now on, as they were since Dad died.  I shall miss you Mum, thank you for your unconditional love and kindness.

This photograph, showing Mum as a young girl, sat with pride next to her bed.  it was taken almost 90 years ago and she was the last remaining living person in the picture.  Images are so ubiquitous now.  It made me wonder if any of the images we share these days will be held with the same kind of affection in 90 years time.  It caused me to think about the original concept of Blipfoto; to share one photo, taken that day, as a reminder of someone's life. I have to say, the more I think about it, the greater my wish to see us stay true to that original ideal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.