Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

An (Un)typical Saturday Morning

My heartfelt thanks and appreciation for the comments and other responses to yesterday's post.  I cannot adequately express how much your words meant to me yesterday.  

As I sat next to Mum, finally at peace, yesterday morning, I was reflecting on how to notify family and her close friends before consigning my tribute to Blipfoto.  It is so difficult to do things the right way in our modern society, when news can be flashed around the world, via social media, in seconds.  Especially for us here on Blipfoto, when such an event takes place, I felt I needed to be so careful to honour those traditional relationships, born of blood ties and personal acquaintance, before widening the tribute to a wider audience.  

Saturday mornings have traditionally been visits to Mum.  While they were never sacrosanct, their pull on me made me feel guilty if I indulged my own pleasures above that which Mum got from seeing her only child.  If I'm honest in recent months they have been less of a pressure, mainly because Mum was never quite sure which day of the week it was.  It was rare that I would miss out on a visit at sometime over the weekend.

Today, we went over to the Chase, my wife on horseback, me with camera in hand.  The image may be seen as a bit of a metaphor but it met the criteria for the shot "don't get me in the picture".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.