A Bullfinch stuffing its face

It was warm enough today to sit on the patio drinking a mug of strong coffee. The sun was shining again and I hope I got enough to deliver my dose of Vitamin D for the day.

I brought a chair out of the cabin and was able to sit still while the birds assembled in their distinctive ways, some sneaking in and out, others waiting for the coast to clear. A dunnock surprised me with its boldness, emerging from the hedge and the undergrowth to perch rather like a robin on small vantage points. 

This bullfinch rather typically stayed to devour as many sunflower seeds as possible. I filled this feeder earlier this morning and by lunchtime it was nearly empty. I love the way that they don't seem to mind crushing endless seeds, dropping the shells below and creating this white beard.

A blackcap didn't like the look of me and flew off, but a few long-tailed tits happily came to feed. I've added a couple of other shots including a long-tailed tit and a robin. Emergency blips but there were no suitable flowers to offer as part of the Flower Friday challenge. Maybe next week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.