Moi Non Plus

This afternoon I went to the funeral of a lovely man, a close friend who I admired tremendously. I've known him for quite a while during my working life but during the last few years before I retired we worked very closely on a training project that I developed and we went on to deliver the training package together. After retiring, he a couple of years before me, we've met up occasionally and done walks on the moor together. He'd had a heart attack some years previously and the necessary bypass work and was extremely fit and heallthy. I was surprised to learn that he'd had a massive heart attack at Christmas and had been in a coma for several weeks before passing away. 

It was a lovely service for which he'd done all the planning (what a good idea) and the place was packed. The coffin was carried out to the music of Bob Marley 'One Love/People Get Ready'. Marian and I can't help bouncing to that music and I'm sure Will would have enjoyed seeing that.

My blip today is Brixham Harbour, Will was a Brixham boy (that's pronounced 'buy') and loved the town, his father had a shoe shop there. My title comes from Will's claim to fame. He told me that when he was working in a posh shoe shop in London in the late 60s/early 70s, he served Jane Birkin, who had the hit 'Je t'aime moi non plus' with Serge Gainsbourg. He fitted her with a pair of those high boots that were so popular at the time. I don't know what it means. Something like Me Neither, I imagine. That doesn't seem very appropriate now I think about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.