Lanterns of the Terracotta Army

There are going to be millions of photos of this little scene. I saw at least four blips of it yesterday.

So it does it's job. Created by artist Xia Nan for the Beijing Olympics these lanterns have been on world-wide tour since 2008. They celebrate two things - the terracotta warriors, discovered in their resting place by a peasant farmer in 1974. And the 2000 year history of lantern making in China.

I noticed a headline today (I didn't read beyond it) - "Chinese New Year goes global". And it's true, at least in this corner of north-west England. I guess it's because it's colourful, secular and fun.

So - this is my little effort. Happy New Year of the Fire Rooster. The last one was 60 years ago. Famous people born then were Dawn French, Stephen Fry and Donny Osmond. So there you go.

Oh ! And Swinton Insurance were founded in that year in Salford. This year they move back to the City, into the building I blipped from last night. It must be in the stars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.