The Contortionist

You will see why I gave it that title if you look at the extras.

Blip mate and I ended our walk today at the outlet from the estuary by the fishing platform. Close by the path were two cormorants or, as they are known in NZ, shags. They were a different type to what we normally see and not at all timid. I was able to get within one and a half metres of them and they still showed no sign of departing.

It was back to the bird identification book when I got home and I think they are what is called a spotted shag. Apparently they have stunning greens and blues when they are breeding but non breeding birds are this  dull. grey/black shade. Their feet and beaks are pale compared to the more common varieties seen here. When I zoomed into a back view, I could see the spots along the back that give the bird their name.

Interesting as well was seeing a lad catch a kingfish on a line from the fishing platform. Quite a decent sized one too. I have only seen them catch herrings there before.

Finished the day by going to see the movie Lala Land which has been given 14 nominations for the awards. I would have given it a nomination for the cinematography, and perhaps one for the music but I don't know about the others. I did enjoy it though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.